Maths photos Maths photos Maths photos Maths photos Maths photos Maths photos Maths photos Maths photos Maths photos Maths photos Maths photos Maths photos Maths photos Maths photos Maths photos Maths photos Maths photos Maths photos Maths photos Maths photos Maths photos Maths photos Maths photos Maths photos Maths photos Maths photos Maths photos Maths photos Maths photos Maths photos


Incharge of the Department


The Department of Mathematics handles Allied subjects and soft-skills for various major departments. The students are approached with innovative methods of teaching. Individual attention is given. Remedial classes are taken to improve their academic performance. Hundred percent results have been produced in successive years from the paper Computer Oriented Mathematics, Mathematics- I and Mathematics-II in the discipline of Computer Science and technology. Apart from academic activities, the students are encouraged to participate in inter-collegiate competition. Many of them have won medals and Shields.

Report on Rubik's Cube Contest

Date: 12/09/17
Venue: Smart Room
Time: 10:30 am -12:30 pm.
Time management.
Understanding basic arithmetic operations.
Improve logical thinking.
Pacing slow learners.
Improve pattern development on the spot.
Brief description:
The program started with Prayer Song followed by Welcome Address by Prof. R. Lavanya. In her Presidential Address the Principal insisted on developing the Arithmetic Skills. A Power Point on Rubik's cube was presented by P.S.Shripa of II MSc (CST) followed by Rubik's cube contest. The contest was conducted for II year students from all the discipline which consisted of three rounds namely-addition using number codes, row and column operations using number codes and completing the pattern. Nearly 15 Students participated in the contest with zeal and enthusiasm. Prize winners for both quiz competition conducted on 04/09/17 and Rubik's cube contest were awarded by Vice-Principal. Vote of thanks was rendered by Prof.S.R.Vanitha. The program ended with National Anthem.
Coordination of staff members, Prof.T.Elizabeth Sangeetha, Prof. R.Lavanya & Prof.S.R.Vanitha was really encouraging.
The prize winners are:
Ist prize: V.Prakash -II B.Com A.
2nd prize: M.Madan - II B.Com B.
3rd prize: S.Bharath - II B.Com (CS).
Feedback: Students found the programme interesting. The audience participated with zeal. Follow up: Students anticipated same programs in the future.


Prize distribution function was held on 09/09/2016 between 10:30am and 12:15pm at Smart room. Vice-President of India Cements Dr.S.Venkatraman and Principal Dr. R.Gayathri graced the Occasion.
The program started with a prayer song, followed by welcome address by Prof.R.Lavanya, Department of Mathematics. H.Krithika & K.Shobana of VMSc (CST), P.R.Sriram & K.Hemachandran of IIBCOMISM and S.Karthikeyan & D.Vigneshwar of IIIMSc (CST) made their power point presentations.
Dr.Venkatraman congratulated and appreciated the prize winners and the participants. He gave guidelines to be followed while preparing and presenting the PPT for their scholastic development. He also persuaded the students to make use of the SMART ROOM for their skill development in an effective way.
Prize winners received their trophies from Dr.Venkatraman. The other participants received their participation certificates from Principal, Dr.R.Gayathri.
Prof.M.Banumathy, In Charge Department of Mathematics rendered the vote of thanks. The program ended with National anthem.


The Department of Mathematics conducted a power point presentation competition for all the students of the college on the topic Biography of Mathematicians. Nine teams constituting two members per team participated in the competition. It was held between 1:15pm and 2:45pm on 31/8/2016 .
The Judges for the event were:

  • Mrs.A.Venmani, In charge Department of Statistics.
  • Mrs.A.Sripriya, Professor Department of Commerce.

The names of first three winning teams are listed below:
Each prize was shared by two teams.

1.  H.Kirthika & K.Shobana - VMSc(CST)
S.Karthikeyan & D.Vigneshwar - IIIMSc (CST)

2.  E.Aswath & S.Srivegnesh kavle - VMSc(CST)
P.R.Shriram & K.Hemachandran - IIBCOMISM

3.  K.Sangeetha & K.Nandhini - IIBSc (CS)
S.Vignesh & L.Vighesh - IIBCOMISM


Mathematics association inauguration was held on 22-08-2016 between 11:00 am and 12.30 pm at Smart room. Principal Dr.R.Gayathri graced the occasion.
Dr.R.Gayathri rendered the presidential address in which she insisted that mathematics was connected indirectly with day to day life and hence there was need to kindle interest in learning the subject. Also she advised the students to develop an attitude to relate the concepts with the life oriented situations to make the learning more effective.
The Inaugural address was rendered by Prof.M.Banumathy In-Charge Department of Mathematics who spoke on Basic concepts in Trigonometry and its applications. She explained the application of trigonometry in real life with examples through power point presentation.


The Department of Mathematics conducted a Bridge Course for first years (IBSc CS, IBCA &IMSc CST) from 28/6/16 - 8/7/16. A quiz program was organized on 8/7/16. Students of IBSc (CS) and IMSc (CST) participated. A total of six teams faced four rounds consisting of logical reasoning, aptitude, rapid fire and activity. Students' participation was really amazing and they requested to conduct more such programs in future. Students who won first and Second places were complimented.
First Place:
T.Kaviarasu Parthiban (IMSc CST)
M.Suresh (IMSc CST)
S.Balachandhar (IBSc CS)
E.Srinivasan (IBSc CS)

Second place:
P.Vennila (IMSc CST)
P.S.Stripa (IMSc CST)
B.K.Karthika (IBSc CS)
S.Nivetha (IBSc CS)
R.Hemalatha (IBSc CS)

© T.S.Narayanaswami College Of Arts & Science.All Rights Reserved.